About AMO

American Motors Owners Association, Inc., (AMO) is a Wisconsin chartered, non-profit organization, which exists expressly for the purpose of aiding and encouraging the use, enjoyment, preservation, and restoration of vehicles built by American Motors Corporation between 1958 and 1988 model years. Ownership of an AMC vehicle is not required for membership in the club.

AMO holds an International Convention each summer, typically in June or July, where a host of AMC related events take place, including cruises, a swap meet, guests speakers, a concourse car show and awards banquet. Our convention is hosted by one of our many regional chapters, and moves around the country each year.

American Motoring is the official news publication of AMO, and is published on a bi-monthly basis with a total of six issues per year. Issues are due to the members within the first two (2) weeks of each odd numbered month. Subscription is free to all paid members of AMO. Permission must be obtained in writing from the editor to copy, reproduce, or copy through any media the materials contained therein. Membership in AMO is open to all AMC enthusiasts worldwide – join today online by clicking here!



AMO Board of Directors
Name (click for email) Position AMC Cars Owned City State Phone
Harm van der Veen Chairman 1970 AMX Woodville Ontario (705) 341-4564
Bob Hodson Board Member 1969 SC/Rambler Orlando Florida (407) 620-1886
Dale Veverka Board Member 1968 Rebel Convertible, 1970 AMX Independence Ohio (216) 524-5977
Chad Quella Board Member 1981 Spirit GT, 1981 Wheel Horse GT-2500 Central Garage Virginia (804) 244-0114
William Clark Board Member 1974 Javelin AMX Kingston Tennessee (865) 771-4127
Mike Spangler Board Member 1969 Ambassador Limo, 1971 Javelin Prototype Jefferson Wisconsin (920) 674-4482
Derek Dorroh Board Member 1980 Spirit Raleigh North Carolina (919) 795-3530‬
Tony Lucas Board Member 1970 AMX Abbotsford British Columbia (604) 832-1996
Dan Sweetland Board Member 1969 AMX, 1970 AMX Gowen Michigan (616) 984-5963
AMO Officers
Name (click for email) Position AMC Cars Owned City State Phone
Al Spoden President 1967 Marlin, 1969 Rebel Sandwich Illinois (630) 865-8732
Joe Fougerousse Vice President 1968 AMX, 1970 Rebel Machine McCordsville Indiana ‭(317) 335-3575‬
Josh Greenplate Secretary 1973 Gremlin, 1970 AMX, 1967 Marlin White Lake Michigan (717)-818-9055
Bob Hodson Treasurer 1969 SC/Rambler Orlando Florida (407) 620-1886
Ian Webb Newsletter Editor 1971 Hornet SC/360, 1971 Javelin SST Fort Wayne Indiana (260) 572-9322
Frank DiCaprio Convention Director 1966 American Convertible Derby Connecticut ‭(203) 736-0070‬
Derek Dorroh Membership Director 1980 Spirit Raleigh North Carolina ‭(919) 795-3530‬
Doug Gehrke Concours Director 1971 Javelin SST, 1978 Concord AMX Plymouth Indiana ‭(574) 952-8934‬
Angie Greenplate Chapter Director White Lake Michigan (717) 858-7566
Hal Souers Classified Editor 1970 AMX, 1978 Matador Barcelona Fort Wayne Indiana ‭(260) 625-5036‬
Richard Estermeyer Treasury Sales 1982 Concord Wagon, 1982 Eagle SX/4, 1977 Pacer DL Belleville Michigan (734) 417-9456
Position Open Technical Editor
Position Open Model Car Division